A reaction on the Pisay issue

Whatabout: ‘Some students’ graduated (got diploma) Philippine Science High School-Diliman despite not meeting the minimum academic requirement

I am a graduate of Pisay-Diliman and I do not regret going to that school, kahit na mahirap. I am proud to say that I am from Pisay Diliman (though you won’t hear it a lot from its graduates), and I survived Pisay-Diliman.

Pisay Diliman is one of the best high schools in the country, I believe. All of its students are scholars and nanggaling sa iba’t ibang lupain ng bansa: Noth to Mindanao. Basically, the people of the Philippines are paying for our education. Aside from our will to finish high school, one of our motivations was to honor the people by studying. The school taught us to value education as they reminded us of our responsibility to the country. The school’s budget was even larger than some state universities of the country, though the school houses only more than 900 students.

Using my batch as a good reference of the behavior of Pisay students, my attention is drawn in this issue.

I do not personally know the people who ‘graduated’, and knowing them won’t help the situation. I heard that the reason of letting them graduate was to not waste the investment of the country. They’re already fourth years and terminating their scholarship at the brink would be a “misinvestment”.

BUT, according to the contract we signed before officially being called “Pisay student”, there are minimum academic requirement. No wonder, it’s a full scholarship. The school gives us the best, we in turn must also give our best. The distinct characteristic of the school is double excellence requirement. Both sides are supposed to aim for excellence.

When I was second year high school, I remember my friend before he slept asked me if minimum academic requirement was an enough tool to measure if the students are studying. He was struggling our Geometry subject, and I really saw his efforts to study. I believe that grades do not completely reflect the ‘willingness’ of the students to study.

Some of my batchmates in high school were less conscious of their academic performance. They went to classes unprepared to submit their homeworks, but uber prepared to copy homeworks. Projects and reports were crammed. I am not saying I never did these things, but these people do it more frequently or “unscholarly”. I’m really sorry for the term. My point is, though these students were a little dilinquent, they met the minimum grade requirement. Actually, kaya naman e.

I am really disappointed that some students did not meet the 1/3 rule of Pisay, along with disciplinary cases, and able to graduate. The people I know who had failing grades al least exerted some effort. Kasi makikita mo talaga ang difference ng study habits. My seatmate in Chem in 4th year was struggling on the subject. Though she failed some exams, she didnt simply accept the situation, but fought until our 4th quarter. Siya na nagstruggle at ang kilala kong nagstruggle din sa geometry survived the subjects, kinaya. So I believe that a big portion of passing a subject is based on your willingness to pass.

There are two possible situations for this matter:tThey were not good in the subject or they didn’t “exert” effort. I highly doubt that they were simply bad in the subject. Why? I remember the days when I had to wake up early to consult to Ma’am Butaran. Some of my batchmates even did more sacrifices
than this. There were ways to survive the subjects. I know that because I was a dormer and I knew people who studied A LOT to pass the subject.

Second, they didn’t exert effort. I believe that this is the main problem. HARDWORK. There were no shortcuts in Pisay, and all of us experienced walking bangag on the lobbies for sleepless nights, Math review, research papers, and Ma’am Oblepias’ readings. As I wrote earlier, I saw the behavior of the acads-less-conscious people in our batch, and I saw the level of the intensity of their “hardwork” compared to other students. I can’t deny that the grades showed a rough estimate on the “hardwork” of the students. Pero naipasa pa rin nila.

I just can’t imagine na hindi napasa ng ilang estudyanteng ‘to ang ilan nilang mga subjects. Though I don’t really mind breaking the contract, I think, it’s fair enough to stick to the rules.

Ma’am Dinah told us when we were first years that the teachers will push us beyond our limits, and that statement was true. Even in college! Comfort in Pisay was not worn always; a lot of times, we were more bangag and obnoxious.

Nabasa ko ang isang blog na sana pala naglaro-laro na lang siya noong high school. Sana ako rin kung ganun. As high school students, ang social responsibility namin ay mag-aral because in due time we will take charge of the country, and the country is in NEED of smart and right people leading the country. It is a responsibility expected from every student, Pisay man o hindi, public man o private, exclusive man o coed.

Perhaps, the bottomline of the reaction of the graduates to this issue is that they did their responsibility as students and as Pisay scholars, why not them?

Disclaimer: I do not intend to draw any conclusion. Haka-haka lang naman ‘to. So please kapag may tingin kayong mali, ‘wag nang i-quote or something, as I was seeing on other blogs. Gotta eat you alive.

(Nakakatuwa naman, may fact sheet ang issue na ‘to.)

Leave a Reply

